Twelve Things I Learned On My Summer Vacation

Standard

Here are some reflections gleaned over the course of the last several months, in no particular order, because that’s how life comes at you.

1) Life in transition is the new normal. Natural disasters, deaths, various forms of domestic upheaval… these things only continue as we get older. I’m getting used to it. I’m teaching my son to get used to it. Nothing is permanent.

2) It is so easy to make homemade mayonnaise. Even easier to make homemade ketchup.

3) Cape Cod is a treasure. In fact, any community in proximity to a shoreline is pretty fantastic. Unless your house gets swept away in a hurricane. Then it can kind of suck.

4) Reuniting with old friends is one of the best things in the world. It brings a long overview to life, and helps give perspective on the gentle passing of the years. Plus, it’s fun to gossip about people we used to know…

5) It’s OK to spend some time away from your significant other. Coming back together after missing one another is kind of like making up after a fight, and we all know how fun that can be.

6) Moving. Is. Hell.

7) I have muscles I did not even know existed. (see #6)

8) Barbecues. Are. Heaven.

9) I only want to work with people I really like. That is my new professional goal.

10) September will always feel like the start of a new year to me. Between the Jewish holidays and the beginning of school, that feeling was cemented in me a long time ago.

11) I’m working on transforming 9/11 into a healing day. I am drawn to exploring how grief and trauma can co-exist with a celebration of life. This year my company published a very healing book on 9/11. To me, this felt like a big step in the right direction.

12) Ten year old boys will teach you everything you need to know about tackling life with gusto. And fart sounds.

josiah in a box

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

